1. News & Issues

President Obama's Executive Team

The Cabinet


The President's cabinet is composed of the most senior appointed officers of the Executive Branch of government. Cabinet officers are nominated by the President and confirmed or rejected by the Senate. A cabinet is authorized in Article 2 of the U.S. Constitution.

The Secretary of State is the highest ranking cabinet official; this Secretary is fourth in succession to the Presidency. Cabinet officers are titular heads of the 15 permanent executive agencies of the government.

Cabinet rank members include the Vice President as well as the White House Chief of Staff, Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Management and Budget, Office of National Drug Control Policy and U.S. Trade Representative.

Learn more about the President's cabinet.
Images 1-12 of 20
tom vilsackSecretary of Agriculture, Tom VilsackHolderAttorney General, Eric HolderGary LockeSecretary of Commerce, Gary LockeRobert GatesSecretary of Defense, Bob Gates
Arne DuncanSecretary of Education, Arne DuncanSteven ChuSecretary of Energy, Steven Chu Lisa JacksonAdministrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, Lisa P. Jacksonquestion markSecretary of Health and Human Services
Janet NapolitanoSecretary of Homeland Security, Janet NapolitanoShaun DonovanSecretary of Housing and Urban Development, Shaun DonovanSalazarSecretary of Interior, Ken SalazarHilda SolisSecretary of Labor, Hilda Solis
  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. US Politics
  4. Profiles
  5. Obama Cabinet - President Obama's Executive Team - The Cabinet

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.