1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

American Winners of The Nobel Peace Prize


This is a list of Americans who have won the Nobel Peace prize. There were no Peace Prizes awarded these years: 1914-1918; 1923-24; 1939-1943; 1948; 1956; 1966-67; 1972.

Al Gore - 2007

Vice President of the United States (1993-2001)
Joint prize for peace with Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).
"for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change"
Nobel Details

Jimmy Carter - 2002

39th President of the United States (1977-1981)
"for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development"
Nobel Details

Jody Williams - 1997

Founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), 1992
"for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines"
Nobel Details

Elie Wiesel - 1986

Chair, The President's Commission on the Holocaust (1980 - 1986)
Nobel Details

Henry A. Kissinger - 1973

56th Secretary of State of the United States from 1973 to 1977.
Joint prize with Le Duc Tho, Democratic Republic of Vietnam.
Nobel Details

Norman E. Borlaug - 1970

Director, International Wheat Improvement Program, International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
Nobel Details

Martin Luther King - 1964

Leader, Southern Christian Leadership Conference
Nobel Details

Linus Carl Pauling - 1962

California Institute of Technology, author No More War!
Nobel Details

George Catlett Marshall - 1953

General President, American Red Cross; ex-Secretary of State and of Defense; Originator of "Marshall Plan"
Nobel Details

Ralph Bunche - 1950

Professor, Harvard University; Acting Mediator in Palestine, 1948
Nobel Details

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.