1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

How Many US Governors Have Been Impeached?


Only eight U.S. governors have been impeached and removed from office.

2009 - Rod Blagojevich, Illinois

The Illinois state House of Representatives voted (114-1) to impeach Blagojevich (D) on 99 January 2009. The Senate voted unanimously to convict on 29 January 2009.

1988 - Evan Mecham, Arizona

The Arizona state House voted (46-14) and Senate impeached (21-9) Mecham (R) after a state grand jury convicted him on six felony charges of fraud, perjury and filing false documents. He served 15 months as governor.

1929 - Henry S. Johnson, Oklahoma

The Oklahoma legislature impeached but did not convict Johnston (D, seventh governor of Oklahoma) in 1928; he was impeached again in 1929 (11 charges) and convicted of one charge, general incompetency.

1923 - John C. Walton, Oklahoma

The Oklahoma House of Representatives charged Walton (D, the state's fifth governor) with 22 counts, which included misappropriating public funds. Eleven of the 22 were sustained. When an Oklahoma City grand jury prepared to investigate the governor’s office, Walton put the entire state under martial law on September 15, 1923 with “absolute martial law” applicable to the capital

1917 - James E. Ferguson, Texas

"Farmer Jim" Ferguson had been elected to a second term as governor in 1916, with support of prohibitionists. In his second term, he "became embroiled" in a dispute with the University of Texas. In 1917 a Travis County grand jury indicted him on nine charges; one charge was embezzlement. The Texas Senate, acting as a court of impeachment, convicted (25-3) Ferguson on 10 charges. Although Ferguson resigned before being convicted, "the court of impeachment's judgment was sustained, preventing Ferguson from holding public office in Texas."

1913 - William Sulzer, New York

The New York State Senate convicted Sulzer (D) of three charges of misappropriation of funds. This is the Tammany Hall era of New York politics. Tammany politicians, in the legislative majority, led the charge of diverting campaign contributions. Nevertheless, he He was elected to the New York State Assembly a few weeks later and later declined the American Party's nomination for President of the United States.

1871 - David Butler, Nebraska

Butler (R) was the first governor of Nebraska. He was removed on 11 counts of misappropriating funds that were targeted for education. He was found guilty of one count. In 1882, he was elected to the state Senate after the record of his impeachment was expunged.

1871 - William W. Holden, North Carolina

Holden, "the most controversial state figure during Reconstruction," was "instrumental in organizing the Republican party in the state." Frederick W. Strudwick, a former Klan leader, introduced the resolution calling for Holden's impeachment for high crimes and misdemeanors in 1890; the House approved eight articles of impeachment. After a partisan trial, the North Carolina Senate found him guilty on six charges.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.